Embroidery on Tea Towels

For over 25 years I have been so impassioned with Brazilian Dimensional embroidery, now I am taking a step back to enjoy some old fashion Embroidery.

Through Needle ‘n Thread newsletter, I found Bird Brain Designs  ( I love the name ).  She has some Punchneedle and Felt work;  but I am enjoying the regular embroidery. Remember, the kind you did as a kid ~   Yes, I am even doing the embroidery on Tea Towels.   Bird Brain Designs has a wide assortment of Tea Towels, and some really fun simple designs to embroider.

Instead of Pearl cotton I am using my EdMar rayon twisted thread.  It slips through the fabric with ease.  And the sheen it gives the embroidery, laying on top of the cotton Tea Towels is a very nice effect.  My point is –  EdMar rayon thread is not just for Brazilian embroidery bullions, cast-ons, etc.  It works very well for many types of needle art;  Huck, Hardanger, Cross Stitch…..

I am using the Iris thread instead of #8 Pearl or 2 strands of floss.  There is over 200 colors of EdMar thread.

If you need a little  break from counting stitches, wrapping thread, looping thread – think about just a kick back fun project.   Keep each stitching project in a separate Mesh Bag, so you can pick up your work with everything you need organized in a zippered mesh pouch.

I think I can get in a few minutes of stitching before calling it a night.  I am trying to get a couple more Tea Towels finished for Christmas gifts.   Did I mention they stitch up quickly too.

Happy Holidays ~  Sharon, Threads in Bloom    **   http://www.threadsinbloom.com

Leave a Reply

