Kalmya Brazilian Dimensional Embroidery

Kalmya – a new Brazilian embroidery design by Threads in Bloom.   I thought maybe you would like to see the step by step stitching.  It is a small design, about 3″ X 4″, so it worked up in just a few evenings

After completing the greenery with EdMar Iris thread, next was the outside of each petal.  It uses EdMar rayon Frost thread, the stitch I used is Cast-on Double.Below shows the  inside of each petal, also Cast-on Double stitch, this time with EdMar Glory thread.

And, here we have the completed Kalmya design.  Glass beads were fun and add a little sparkle to the center of each petal and bud. I did a row of the beads around the edge of the center.  The beads seem to make the petals really pop out, bringing more dimension to the design.

All of the stitch and flower instructions are in the book “Apples to Zinnias” Brazilian Dimensional.  The instructions in the book are for only three petals per flower.  When I did a some researching for the Kalmia flower, they do have 5 petals – therefore I varied from the instructions to stitch 5 petals, along with a couple other changes.   My changes are in the instructions with the fabric  printed design in the design package, and the beads.

You can find the Kalmya package, EdMar rayon thread and book at:   http://www.ThreadsinBloom.com

It has been so nice being on vacation for two weeks, it went by fast.  I did get to spend time stitching and sewing.  A friend and I even got away to Monterey for a day.  It was beautiful – the waves were high and crashing on the rocks.   Tomorrow is time to get back to my job, which I really do enjoy, except it takes me away from stitching as many hours as I would like; but you know that feeling.    Tonight I want to start a Blackwork project and I have another Threads in Bloom Brazilian embroidery design ready to begin stitching.  It will have a special little surprise on it.

A friend at Nordic Needle sent me a quote a few days ago from Franklin D. Roosevelt, I would like to share it with you ~

Happiness is not in the mere possession of money;

it lies in the joy of achievement,

in the thrill of  creative effort.

It has been nice visiting with you,

Sharon ~ Threads in Bloom

2 responses to this post.

  1. What a lovely post! I am so delighted you decided to write about it.

    Reply

    • Thank you ~ I am glad you like my design Kalmya done in Brazilian embroidery. It was fun to stitch.
      I will be showing and adding another new design, Its-a-Belle to my website and newsletter.
      Its-a-Belle is the design I taught at the Nordic Needle Retreat in April
      Sharon ~ Threads in Bloom

      Reply

Leave a Reply

